top of page

Board of Directors 2023

  • Felicia Mills

  • Maria Mayorga

  • Yolanda McDowell

  • William Wyatt

  • Dr. Tobias LaGrone

  • Dr. Goldie Wells, Chair

  • Dr.Bradford Lilley, Vice Chair

  • Sandra Hayes, Secretary

  • Mr. Ed Price, Treasurer

  • Judge Marcus Shields

  • Hon. Tyrone Johnson

  • Hon. Yvonne Johnson

  • Hon. Valerie Jones

  • Michael Pittman

  • Rosalyn Frazier


The Honorable Yvonne Johnson was awarded, the state’s highest civilian honor, the Order of the Long Leaf Pine on December 5, 2017.

HON. MARK WALKER – U.S. House of Representatives, 6th District
(December 6, 2017)
“I rise today to recognize Mayor Pro Tem Yvonne Johnson, from Guilford County. I am honored to acknowledge Mrs. Johnson as she receives The Order of the Long Leaf Pine, awarded for exemplary service to the community and the State of North Carolina that is considered above and beyond the call of duty. The Order of the Long Leaf Pine is among the most prestigious awards conferred by the Governor. Mrs. Johnson has continuously worked to make a positive impact in North Carolina. The citizens of Greensboro, Guilford County, and the entire state of North Carolina are truly fortunate to have Mrs. Johnson, as an outstanding representative of our community and country. I join with her family, friends, and the Sixth District in thanking Mayor Pro Tem Yvonne Johnson for her dedicated service to the city of Greensboro and the United States of America.”

With great pleasure, WRLP is proud to announce that Dr. Burdell Knight has received the High Point Human Relations Commission Humanitarian of the Year Award.

The High Point Human Relations Commission Humanitarian of the Year Award was created to honor a High Point citizen of whom during his or her lifetime has made significant contribution to human relations in High Point. The award was presented during the City's Annual Martin Luther King, Jr. Community Celebration. The City of High Point Human Relations Commission recognized Dr. Burdell Knight for her contributions made during the previous years that benefited traditionally oppressed individuals or groups. These groups include, but are not limited to: Racial and ethnic minorities, women, and the socially and economically disadvantaged. Specifically, not a civic leadership award, this award is presented to recognize a person that has risen above and beyond the call of duty in furthering the cause of equality and fair treatment for all citizens.

bottom of page